Asset Publisher

NCTC Meets

NCTC Meets

NCTC Meets


The National Committee for Tobacco Control (NCTC) held yesterday Sunday its 7th meeting under the chair of H.E. Dr. Mohammed bin Saif al-Hosni, undersecretary of Ministry of Health for Health Affairs with attendance of the committee members from all the official authorities at the Ministry of Health headquarters.

The meeting reviewed the progress achieved in implementing the Framework Convention on Tobacco Control in the Sultanate. The Convention includes the decision of the Ministry of Information to ban the deployment of tobacco advertising in all mass media. In addition to the decision of the Ministry of Commerce and Industry and Public Authority for Consumer Protection to ban importing and trading electronic cigarette and shisha, as well as the prohibition of giving discounts on all tobacco products and banning to open tobacco shops near the educational institutions.  

The meeting also reviewed the approval of their Majesties and Highnesses the leaders of the Gulf Cooperation Countries (GCC) on imposing a selective tax on tobacco, which will hopefully be applied in next October. Furthermore, it also discussed the developments related to unifying the requirements of providing shisha and implementation of study of using tobacco among adults in the Sultanate.

The meeting discussed the decision of the Ministry of Regional Municipalities and Water Resources on issuing the regulation of providing shisha in the cafes and the prohibition of use it in the enclosed public places, as well as the residential areas.

The meeting touched on the visit of UN delegation to the Sultanate on the non-communicable diseases, the developments on issuing the Tobacco Control Act, the latest development to join to the Protocol to Eliminate Illicit Trade in Tobacco Products and updating the standards specifications of Oman on tobacco products.

The Committee members include representatives from the Ministry of Health, Royal Oman Police (ROP), World Health Organization (WHO), Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Ministry of Regional Municipalities and Water Resources, Ministry of Education, Ministry of Manpower, Public Authority for Consumer Protection, Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries, Ministry of Information, Muscat Municipality and Dhofar Municipality.

الاسيت ببليشر

الاجتماع السابع للجنة الوطنية لمكافحة التبغ

الاجتماع السابع للجنة الوطنية لمكافحة التبغ

الاجتماع السابع للجنة الوطنية لمكافحة التبغ

26/9/2016

عقد بديوان عام وزارة الصحة صباح امس الاحد الاجتماع السابع للجنة الوطنية لمكافحة التبغ برئاسة سعادة الدكتور محمد بن سيف الحوسني وكيل وزارة الصحة للشؤون الصحية رئيس اللجنة وبحضور أعضاء اللجنة من مختلف الجهات الرسمية.

تم خلال الاجتماع استعراض التقدم المحرز في تنفيذ الاتفاقية الاطارية بشأن مكافحة التبغ في السلطنة والتي شملت قرار وزارة الاعلام بحظر نشر إعلانات التبغ ومشتقاته في جميع وسائل الاعلام، وقرار وزارة التجارة والصناعة والهيئة العامة حماية المستهلك حول حظر استيراد وتداول السيجارة والشيشة الالكترونية، وحظر إعطاء تخفيضات على جميع منتجات التبغ وحظر فتح محلات بيع منتجات التبغ بالقرب من المؤسسات التعليمية.

إضافة لذلك تم خلال الاجتماع استعراض موافقة أصحاب الجلالة والسمو قادة دول مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية بفرض ضريبة انتقائية على التبغ ووضع آليات تحصيلها والتي من المؤمل تطبيقها في شهر أكتوبر المقبل، علاوة على مناقشة المستجدات المتعلقة بتوحيد اشتراطات تقديم الشيشة وتنفيذ دراسة استخدام التبغ بين البالغين في السلطنة ومناقشة قرار وزارة البلديات الإقليمية وموارد المياه حول اصدار لائحة تنظيم تقديم الشيشة في المقاهي وحظر استخدامها في الأماكن العامة المغلقة والأماكن السكنية.

كما تناول اجتماع اللجنة الوطنية لمكافحة التبغ ملخص زيارة وفد منظمات الأمم المتحدة للسلطنة المتعلق بالأمراض غير المعدية ولقائهم أصحاب السمو والمعالي في مجلس الوزراء، إضافة إلى مستجدات اصدار قانون مكافحة التبغ ومستجدات الانضمام لبروتوكول القضاء على الاتجار غير المشروع بمنتجات التبغ وتحديث المواصفات القياسية العمانية حول منتجات التبغ.

وتضم اللجنة في عضويتها ممثلين عن كل من وزارة الصحة وشرطة عمان السلطانية ومنظمة الصحة العالمية ووزارات التجارة والصناعة، والبلديات الإقليمية وموارد المياه، والتربية والتعليم، والقوى العاملة، والزراعة والثروة السمكية، والإعلام، والهيئة العامة لحماية المستهلك وبلديتي مسقط وظفار.

ويعتبر موضوع الحد من أضرار آفة التدخين أحد أولويات وزارة الصحة واللجنة الوطنية لمكافحة التبغ في برنامجهما الرامي لتحسين الحالة الصحية في السلطنة؛ ففي كل عام تثبت الإحصاءات أن التدخين مسؤول عن عدد كبير من الحالات المرضية المزمنة وحالات الوفيات في العالم.

 



Comments