Asset Publisher

Obituary

Obituary

Obituary

18/10/2017

With great sorrow and sadness, the Ministry of Health (MOH) in the Sultanate of Oman received the announcement of the death of Dr. Mahmoud Muhammed Fikri, WHO Regional Director for Eastern Mediterranean Region. The MOH extend its heartfelt condolences to his family and the Organization.

The WHO Executive Board has declared in its 140th session in Geneva the appointment of Dr. Fikri as a Regional Director for the Eastern Mediterranean Region after being nominated by the Regional Committee on October 2016, where he began his duties last February.

Dr. Fikri served as an Advisor of Ministry of Health in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Undersecretary of Ministry of Preventive Medicine & Health Policy Affairs (1995 – 2013). He was also a member of the Executive Board of the WHO Health & Development Center in Kobe, Japan, as well as a member of the Advisory Board of the Executive Office of the GCC Health Minister Council (1996 – 2005) and member of the WHO Executive Board (1997 – 2000).

The late Dr. Fikri died on the flight en route to the Uruguay to attend the WHO International Meeting on Noncommunicable Diseases.

As the Ministry providing this information, it pays tribute to his efforts and outstanding role during his work period.       



Comments

الاسيت ببليشر

وزارة الصحة تنعي الدكتور/ محمود فكري – المدير الإقليمي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية

وزارة الصحة تنعي الدكتور/ محمود فكري – المدير الإقليمي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية

وزارة الصحة تنعي الدكتور/ محمود فكري – المدير الإقليمي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية

18/10/2017

بقلوب مؤمنة بقضاء الله وقدره تتقدم وزارة الصحة بسلطنة عمان، ومكتب منظمة الصحة العالمية في السلطنة بأحر التعازي وأصدق المواساة إلى أسرة الفقيد الراحل الدكتور/ محمود فكري – المدير الإقليمي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية، سائلين المولى جلت قدرته أن يتغمد روحه بالرحمة والمغفرة ويلهم أهله وذويه الصبر والسلوان.

 

وكان المجلس التنفيذي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية قد اعلن في دورته الأربعين بعد المائة التي عقدت في جنيف تعيين الدكتور/ محمود فكري – مديراً اقليماً لشرق المتوسط، وذلك بعد ترشحه من قبل اللجنة الإقليمية لشرق المتوسط في أكتوبر 2016م، حيث بدأ مهام منصبه في فبراير الماضي.

 

وشغل الفقيد مناصب عدة، منها مستشار وزير الصحة في دولة الامارات العربية المتحدة، ووكيل وزارة الطب الوقائي وشؤون السياسات الصحية (1995 – 2013) كما كان عضواً بمجلس الإدارة التنفيذي في مركز الصحة والتنمية التابع للمنظمة في كوبي باليابان، وعضواً بالمجلس الاستشاري بالمكتب التنفيذي لمجلــس وزراء الصحـــة لـــدول مجلــس التعاون الخليجي (1996 – 2005)، كمـــا كــــان عضـــواً بالمجلـــس التنفيــذي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية من (1997 إلى 2000).

 

وقد توفي المذكور في الطائرة خلال رحلته إلى الاوروغواي لحضور المؤتمر العالمي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية بشأن الأمراض غير السارية.

وإذ تقدم الوزارة هذه المعلومات عنه، فأنها تحيي في الوقت نفسه ذكراه العطرة تقديراً لمسيرة كفاحه وتفانيه، ودوره المتميز في أداء عمله. 

 



Comments