Asset Publisher

Q & A about the Novel Corona Virus

Q & A about the Novel Corona Virus

Q & A about the Novel Corona Virus

26/1/2020

What are Coronaviruses?

Coronaviruses is a common virus family known to cause a range of diseases ranging from common colds to severe pneumonia.

What is the Novel (new) CORONA virus?

This virus is a new type of Coronavirus that has not previously been found in humans. The new virus in the People's Republic of China and is called 2019-nCoV). Other known types of Corona virus include MERS- Coronavirus and SARS-Coronavirus.

What is the current situation of the new Coronavirus (2019-nCOV) ?

The first case of this virus was reported on December 31, 2019 in Wuhan City, Hubei Province, People's Republic of China. As of January 23, 2020, more than   cases have been reported in Wuhan city and other cities in China. In addition cases were reported outside China in Thailand, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Macao, the Philippines and the United States. With  17 deaths recorded in Wuhan City. (Please keep following the updates as it become available). All cases outside China has been infected in China.

Can humans be infected with a new coronavirus from an animal source?

Yes, evidence has shown that the new coronavirus infection is caused by contact with animals infected with the virus. Epidemiological investigations are ongoing to identify the animal carrier of the new Coronavirus in China.

What are the symptoms of the new (2019-nCoV)?

The most common symptoms include: fever, cough, shortness of breath and difficulty of breathing. In the most severe cases, infection can cause pneumonia, severe acute respiratory syndrome, kidney failure and even death.

Can the new (2019-nCoV) be transmitted from one person to another?

Yes, the transmission of the new Corona virus from one person to another has been reported and is expected. It probably happens by close contact with an infected person, such as in the context of family, workplace or health-care centers. Also by exposure to surfaces contaminated by the secretion of the infected person.

Are health care workers at risk of contracting the new Corona virus?

Yes, transmissions of infection have been recorded among health-care workers because they are more close to patients than the general public. Health Care Workers are recommended to use appropriate personal infection prevention and control measures.

Is there a vaccine against the new CORONA virus?

No, there is no vaccine. When a new disease appears, no vaccine is available unless it is first manufactured. It may take several years before a vaccine against the virus can be made.

Is there a cure for the new Corona virus?

There is no specific treatment for the disease caused by the new Coronavirus. However, many of its symptoms can be treated, so treatment depends on the patient's clinical condition. Supportive care for people infected can be very effective.

Are there travel restrictions on China or areas where the new Corona virus has appeared?

The World Health Organization does not recommend travel restrictions on the Republic of China or any of the areas where the new Corona virus has appeared (Please keep following the updates as it become available).

What can be done to protect against the new Corona virus?

To reduce risk and prevent the new Corona virus infection, please apply the following procedures:

  • Avoid direct contact with animals (live or dead) or presence in animal trading markets in China.

  • Avoid direct contact with anyone with symptoms of a cold or respiratory infection.

  • Cover nose and mouth when sneezing or coughing with tissue or flexed elbow.

  • Wash your hands with soap and water or use alcohol-based hand rub.

  • Make sure that animal products are cooked well before eating them.

For travelers to areas where the new Corona virus has appeared

Follow the above precautions. In addition, stay at home and avoid crowded places as much as possible, using mask when in a crowded place, and go to the nearest healthcare institution in case of presence of any of the symptoms mentioned.

For those coming from the People's Republic of China

within the past 14 days or if you are in direct contact with a person who has visited China and suffer from chest infection and you have the following symptoms (fever, cough, shortness of breath, difficulty breathing, diarrhea or vomiting), please visit the airport health control clinic directly or visit the nearest health center while you are in Oman and report your travel history.

Where can I get more information about the new CORONA virus?

 For more information on the new Corona virus (2019 n-COV), please contact the call center on 24441999 and follow information from the Ministry of Health cited in the national press.



Comments

الاسيت ببليشر

سؤال وجواب حول فيروس كورونا المستجد

سؤال وجواب حول فيروس كورونا المستجد

سؤال وجواب حول فيروس كورونا المستجد

26/1/2020

ما هي فيروسات كورونا؟

فيروسات كورونا فصيلة واسعة الانتشار معروفة بأنها تسبب طائفة من الأمراض تتراوح بين نزلات البرد الشائعة ومتلازمة الالتهاب الرئوي الحادة.

ما هو فيروس كورونا المستجد؟

يعد فيروس كورونا المستجد سلالة جديدة من فيروسات كورونا لم تُكشف إصابة البشر بها سابقاً. ويعد الفيروس الحالي المتفشي في جمهورية الصين الشعبية- فيروس كورونا المستجد- ( (2019-nCOV من أمثلة فيروسات كورونا المستجدة، ومن الأمثلة كذلك فيروس كورونا المسبب لمتلازمة الالتهاب الرئوي الحاد الوخيم (سارس)، و فيروس كورونا المسبب لمتلازمة الشرق الأوسط التنفسية (ميرس).

ما هو الوضع الوبائي الحالي لفيروس كورونا المستجد ( (2019-nCOV؟

تم الإبلاغ عن أول حالة للإصابة بهذا الفيروس بتاريخ 31 ديسمبر 2019 في مدينة ووهان بمقاطعة هوبي بجمهورية الصين الشعبية, وحتى تاريخ 22 يناير 2020 تم تسجيل ما يزيد على 300 حالة في مدينة ووهان مع تسجيل حالات مرضية مؤكدة في مدن أخرى بالصين وكذلك حالات خارج الصين في كل من تايلاند واليابان  وكوريا الجنوبية وتايوان وماكاو والفلبين والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. مع تسجيل 9 وفيات بمدينة ووهان. ( يرجى متابعة التحديثات باستمرار بهذا الخصوص للوقوف على آخر المستجدات).

هل يمكن أن يُصاب البشر بالعدوى بفيروس كورونا مستجد من مصدر حيواني؟

نعم, فقد أثبتت الدلائل أن عدوى فيروسات كورونا المستجدة تنجم عن مخالطة حيوانات مصابة بالفيروس. وما تزال التحريات الوبائية جارية للتعرف على الناقل الحيواني لفيروس كورونا المستجد المتفشي في الصين ((2019 n-COV

ما هي أعراض الإصابة بفيروس كورونا؟

أكثر الأعراض شيوعاً ما يلي: الحمّى، والسعال، وضيق النفس وصعوبة التنفس. وفي الحالات الأشد وطأة، قد تسبب العدوى الالتهاب الرئوي والمتلازمة التنفسية الحادة الوخيمة والفشل الكلوي وحتى الوفاة.

هل يمكن أن تنتقل فيروسات كورونا من شخص إلى آخر؟

نعم، تم إثبات انتقال فيروس كورونا المستجد من شخص إلى آخر وذلك عن طريق الاتصال عن قُرب مع الشخص المصاب عادةً، كما يحدث في سياق الأسرة أو أماكن العمل أو في مراكز الرعاية الصحية مثلاً. وكذلك عن طريق التعرض للأسطح الملوثة بإفرازاة الشخص المصاب.

هل العاملون الصحيون عرضة للإصابة بفيروس كورونا الجديد؟

نعم، تم تسجيل حالات إنتقال للعدوى بين العاملين في الرعاية الصحية وذلك نظراً لاقترابهم من المرضى أكثر من عامة الناس، لذلك يوصى هؤلاء العاملين باستخدام وسائل الوقاية الشخصية المناسبة من العدوى وتدابير المكافحة اللازمة.

هل يوجد لقاح ضد فيروس كورونا المستجد؟

لا يوجد لقاح فاعل. فعندما يظهر مرض جديد لا يتوفر له أي لقاح ما لم يتم تصنيعه أولاً. وقد يستغرق الأمر عدة سنوات قبل التوصل إلى تصنيع لقاح ضد الفيروس.

هل يوجد علاج ضد فيروس كورونا المستجد؟

لا يوجد علاج محدد للمرض الذي يسببه فيروس كورونا المستجد. غير أن العديد من أعراضه يمكن معالجتها، وبالتالي يعتمد العلاج على الحالة السريرية للمريض. وقد تكون الرعاية الداعمة للأشخاص المصابين بالعدوى ناجعة للغاية.

هل توجد قيود على السفر للصين أو المناطق التي ظهر فيها فيروس كورونا المستجد؟

طبقا للمعطيات المتوفرة حاليا فإنه لم يتم فرض قيود على السفر إلى جمهورية الصين أو أي من المناطق التي ظهر فيها فيروس كورونا المستجد ( يرجى متابعة التحديثات باستمرار بهذا الخصوص للوقوف على لآخر المستجدات)

ما الذي يمكن القيام به للحماية من الفيروس المستجد؟

للحدّ من التعرض للإصابة بفيروس كورونا ومنع انتقاله يرجى اتباع الإجراءات التالية:

  • تجنب الاتصال المباشر بالحيوانات (حية أو ميتة) أو التواجد في أسواق تداول الحيوانات.

  • تجنب الإتصال المباشر مع أي شخص يعاني من أعراض الزكام أو الإلتهاب التنفسي.

  • استخدام المنديل أو باطن كوع اليد عند العطس أو السعال.

  • غسل اليدين بالماء والصابون أو استخدام المعقم.

  • التـأكد من طهي المنتجات الحيوانية جيدا قبل تناولها.

بالنسبة للمسافرين إلى المناطق التي ظهر فيها فيروس كورونا المستجد  

فينصح باتباع الإرشادات السابقة الذكر. مع مراعاة البقاء في المنزل و تجنب الأماكن المزدحمة قدر الإمكان، واستخدام الكمامات عند التواجد في الأماكن المزدحمة, والتوجه لأقرب مؤسسة رعاية صحية في حالة ظهور أي من الأعراض المذكورة عليك.

بالنسبة للقادمين من جمهورية الصين الشعبية

خلال 14 يوما الماضية أو إذا كنت على اتصال مباشر مع شخص يعاني من إلتهاب رئوي وكنت تعاني من الأعراض التالية ( حمى, سعال, ضيق النفس, صعوبة التنفس, اسهال أو قيء)فيرجى زيارة عيادة المراقبة الصحية بالمطار مباشرة أو زيارة أقرب مركز صحي خلال تواجدك بالسلطنة مع الإفصاح عن تاريخ السفر لجمهورية الصين.

أين يمكن الحصول على مزيد من المعلومات عن فيروس كورونا المستجد؟

للمزيد من المعلومات عن فيروس كورونا المستجد ( (2019 n-COV  الرجاء  التواصل مع مركز الاتصال على الرقم 24441999 .



Comments