Asset Publisher

MOH Statement on CCHF Cases in the Sultanate

MOH Statement on CCHF Cases in the Sultanate

MOH Statement on CCHF Cases in the Sultanate

20/3/2017

Total of 9 Crimean Congo Haemorrhagic Fever (CCHF) cases have been confirmed during the first quarter of this year (2017), four of them were Omani Nationals. The number of deaths reached 3 case fatality rate of about (37.5%). Compared with the same period of the last year (2016) where only 3 cases were confirmed, the current figures are noticeably high.

The Crimean Congo Haemorrhagic Fever (CCHF) is considered a top priority disease on the international and local level and should be reported within 24 hours.  The CCHF is caused by a virus carried by the ticks. Animals like sheep, goats and cows become infected by the bite of infected ticks then it could be transmitted into human either by tick bites or by direct contact with the infected animals blood and tissues during or after slaughtering.  Human-to-human transmission can occur resulting from close contact with the blood, secretions, organs or other bodily fluids of infected persons.

Symptoms appear suddenly including fever, muscle aches, dizziness, neck pain and stiffness, back pain, headache, sore eyes and photophobia (sensitivity to light). There may be also nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain and sore throat early on, followed by sharp mood swings and confusion.

Considering the unavailability of safe and effective vaccine for human, the Ministry of Health (MOH) urges all people to adopt the preventive measures while handling animals. Purchased animals must be ensured free of ticks, when handling animals and their tissues be sure not to touch or crush or remove ticks by hand, wear protective clothings (long sleeves, long trousers) gloves and long shoes. Make sure to slaughter the animal in the approved municipal slaughterhouses, and dispose properly the slaughter waste by putting it in bags and throw it in their designated areas.

It moreover calls upon seeking medical advice when feeling any of the symptoms mentioned earlier and avoiding direct physical contact with infected people.

 

 



Comments

الاسيت ببليشر

ارتفاع ملحوظ في عدد المصابين بمرض حمى القرم – كونغو النزفية في السلطنة

ارتفاع ملحوظ في عدد المصابين بمرض حمى القرم – كونغو النزفية في السلطنة

ارتفاع ملحوظ في عدد المصابين بمرض حمى القرم – كونغو النزفية في السلطنة

20/3/2017

بلغ عدد عدد حالات حمى القرم– الكونغو النزفية (CCHF) المبلغ عنها في الربع الأول من العام الحالي (2017) في السلطنة تسع حالات مؤكدة  ثلاثه منها  في أسبوع واحد، منها أربعة عمانيين. كما بلغ عدد الوفيات 3 بمعدل إماتة 37.5% .  ويعد هذا ارتفاعا ملحوظا عند مقارنته بالفترة ذاتها من العام المنصرم (2016) حيث كان عدد الحالات المسجلة ثلاث حالات فقط .

ويعد مرض حمى القرم– الكونغو النزفية (CCHF) من الامراض  ذات أولوية عالية على المستوى العالمي والمحلي  ويتم التبليغ عنه خلال 24 ساعه  ، ونسبة فيروس تحمله حشرة القراد وتصاب الحيوانات مثل الأغنام والماعز والأبقار بالعدوى عن طريق لدغة القرادات المصابة بالعدوى ، وينتقل الفيروس إلى البشر إما عن طريق لدغة القرادات أو بالاتصال المباشر بدم أو أنسجة الحيوانات المصابة أثناء الذبح أو بعده مباشرة. وينتقل الفيروس من إنسان إلى آخر نتيجة الاتصال المباشر بدم الشخص المصاب أو إفرازاته أو أعضائه أو سوائل جسمه الأخرى.

وتبدأ أعراض المرض في الظهور بشكل مفاجئ ، وتشمل الحمى وآلام العضلات والدوخة وآلام الرقبة وتَيَبُّسها وآلام الظهر والصداع والتهاب العيون والحساسية للضوء. ومن الأعراض التي قد تظهر في بداية الإصابة بالمرض الشعور بالغثيان والقيء والإسهال وآلام البطن والتهاب الحلق.

وفي ظل عدم توافر لقاح آمن وفعال متاح على نطاق واسع للاستخدام البشري فإن وزارة الصحة تهيب يالمواطنين اتباع التدابير الوقائية والحرص على الممارسات السليمة عند التعامل مع الحيوانات او مخالطة المصابين بالمرض للحد من التعرض للفيروس. ومن هذه التدابير اجراء عملية الذبح في المسالخ , عدم سحق القراد أو نزعه باليد والتلوث بدمائه , إرتداء القفازات وغيرها من الملابس الواقية أثناء التعامل مع الحيوانات أو أنسجتها, التخلص السليم من مخلفات الذبح , إرتداء القفازات والمعدات الواقية وغسل اليدين  عند رعاية المرضى المصابين بالفيروس و الإسراع الى طلب المشورة الصحية في حالة ظهور أعراض المرض وإخطار المختصين بالتعرض السابق والأعراض المصاحبة. تَجَنُّب الاتصال الجسدي المباشر بالمصابين بفيروس حمى القرم– الكونغو النزفية

 



Comments