Web Content Display

Sultanate of Oman is located in the south eastern corner of the Arabian Peninsula. Its coastal line extends 3,165 kilometers from the Strait of Hormuz in the North to the borders of the Republic of  Yemen, overlooking three seas: the Arabian Gulf, Gulf of Oman and the Arabian Sea. It borders Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and United Arab Emirates in the West, the Republic of Yemen in the South, the Strait of Hormuz in the North and the Arabian Sea in the East.

The total area of the Sultanate of Oman is approximately 309.5 thousands square kilometers. The Sultanate is composed of varying topographic areas consisting of plains, wadis (dry river beds) and mountains. The most important area is the plain overlooking the Oman sea and the Arabian Sea with an area of about 3% of the total area. The mountain ranges occupy almost 15% of the total land of Oman. The remaining area is mainly wadis and desert (about 82% of the total area). The climate differs from one area to another; it is hot and humid in the coastal areas in summer, hot and dry in the interior with exception of higher mountains and Dhofar Governorate, which enjoy a moderate climate throughout the year.

The Sultanate of  Oman is administratively divided into  11 Governorates with 61 Wilayats. These Governorates are : Muscate Governorate, Dhofar Governorate, Musandam Governorate. Al Buraymi Governorate, Ad Dakhliyah Governorate, North Al Batinah Governorate, South Al Batinah Governorate, South Ash Sharqiyah Governorate, North As Sharqiyah Governorate, Adh Dhahirah Governorate and Al Wusta Governorate.

Figure 1- 1: Diagrammatic Presentation of the Sultanate of Oman Showing Ten Health Governorates

Page Ratings

Average (0 Votes)