Web Content Display

Oman National Healthcare Accreditation System



The Oman National Healthcare Accreditation System (ONHAS) is a national governmental system that it is main mission is to improve the quality and safety in healthcare institutions (government and private) in the sultanate. It provides continuous provision of support to the healthcare institutions to implement and adhere to the national standards. ONHAS provides its accreditation activities in several ways; develop and continuous update of the user manual for the national standards, conducts awareness sessions and workshops related to the national accreditation, facilitates self-assessment, and conducts the on-site assessment. It is also committed to providing consultation and guidance, continuous education and monitoring, and possible publications which are separated from ONHAS accreditation activities. 



To have safe and high-quality care services in all healthcare institutions in Oman.  



Promoting and enhancing the standardized excellent quality of healthcare in all health institutions in Oman. 



  1. Professionalism. 
  2. Excellence.  
  3. Integrity /Transparency 
  4. Team spirit. 
  5. Improvement and Learning  


Goals and Objectives of Accreditation:  


Oman National Healthcare Accreditation System (ONHAS) is planned to fulfill the Oman 2050 health vision that quality care and sustained health for all, and to improve the health status of all Omanis. The overall goal of ONHAS is to support the MoH in Oman to improve the quality and safety standards of healthcare services in Oman through the accreditation of all health institutions starting from hospitals.  



The specific objectives of ONHAS in this phase are: 


Strengthen the quality and safety of the healthcare system in Oman through the accreditation of healthcare institutions.

Build capacity in hospitals to carry out accreditation activities, meet standards, and improve the quality and safety of health services to be accredited.

To promote a culture of patient safety and minimize the risk to patients. 

To ensure the quality of healthcare through the application of quality models”.

To supports the efficient and effective use of resources in healthcare services. 

To strengthen interdisciplinary team effectiveness and promotes institutional learning.

Sustains improvements in quality and organizational performance. 



 The Public Consultation Process of the National Standards  


The National Accreditation Committee has been working on developing national accreditation standards that will cover hospitals standards, primary health care, National centers. As first phase, the committee has finished from developing the hospital standards; written by Omani healthcare professionals from all healthcare providers in the sultanate. Standards are comprising of following nine chapters:

  1. Governance and Leadership (GAL)
  2. Human Resources Management (HRM)
  3. Facility Management and Safety (FMS)
  4. Information Management System (IMS)
  5. Quality and Risk Management (QRM)
  6. Provision of Care (POC)- clinical specialties/supportive services.
  7. Patient Rights and Education (PRE)
  8. Medication Management and Safety (MMS)
  9. Infection Prevention and Control (IPC)


We are requesting your valuable feedback; our Goal is to get your valued opinion, which will help us improving it before application. 

To give your feedback, you can download the hospitals accreditation standards below, then use the stakeholder consultation form.

Please send your feedback to oman.moh.accreditation@gmail.com no later than 23 /04/2020.


Oman National Healthcare Standards Development Process


The Structure of the National Hospital Standards (version 7) 


The accreditation standards in ONHAS are divided into ten (10) chapters around the main key services and functions provided by general hospitals in Oman, and the hospital that wants to be accredited by ONHAS must apply the standards of the meant departments according to the institution’s specialization. These chapters included in manual are as follows:  

  1. Leadership of the Organization (LD) 
  1. Human Resource management (HRM) 
  1. Compulsory Safety Standards (CSS) 
  1. Specialized Medical Care Services (SMCS) 
  1. Quality management and risk (QRM). 
  1. Infection Prevention and Control (IPC) 
  1. Medication Management (MM) 
  1. Patient Rights and Education (PRE) 
  1. Information Management (MOI) 
  1. Facility Management and Safety (FMS) 


Each chapter has a brief introduction that explains their importance and impact to the safety and quality of patient care. The standard is composed of a stem represented by a brief statement, purpose, and measures evidence of compliance.


 National accreditation standards